cake

17 Jan

My sweet ray of sunshine was born just about 6 months ago and my world has forever been changed.

shiloh and me 5.5 months

Before Shiloh Grace was in my arms, I dreamt of “having my cake and eating it, too” … I could do it all:

Be still before God throughout the day in prayer and meditation.

Love on my husband like we’re still dating.

Adore my daughter and be present in her ever-changing world while nurturing and raising her to know she is the apple of her momma’s eye.

Be active in nature with my little family.

Serve my clients with all the passion and attention my company was built on.

Be available for my family & friends.

Hang out with my girlfriends without a myriad of “must-do’s” stealing away that time.

Keep a clean home.

Prepare nutrient-dense real food meals for my family.

Have extra time to give to those in need.

Walk the dog.

Take a shower.

Try and throw on some lipstick & mascara.

… to name a few.

So here’s the kicker that I have realized six months in: either parts of that cake will go rotten from being left daily untouched or I will go sick daily trying to eat it all.  It’s that simple.

I have embraced the fact that I cannot have my cake and eat it, too, at this stage of life.

So, instead, I’m choosing the pieces that are most important and taking some of those other pieces off my plate, despite how temptingly delicious they are.

Which brings me to the beautiful world of Hair & Makeup and Brides By Brittany

At this season of my life, as a wife and momma to a 6 month old bundle of wonder & joy, I cannot dedicate the time and energy to my clients like I did before Shiloh was born.  Truth be told, my appetite has changed and the small windows of time I could spend frantically catching up on emails, throwing together contracts, calling to chat with a Bride, etc, I have other pieces of my cake I feel more drawn to and that fit this season of my life better.

SO… until further ado, I will not be opening my booking calendar for 2014.

This life is always moving and forming and challenging us and I remain clay in the Potter’s mighty hands, willing and open to what the next season will look like.  But for now, life as a wife & momma is pretty scrumptious and all-encompassing.  And I’m ok with that.

~
“To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under heaven…” Ecclesiastes 3:1
~

us 5.5months

Thank-you for all your love and support throughout this journey, I am blessed to have been a part of so many sacred beginnings.  When the time comes for me to take on this sweet piece of cake again, I will post an update and look forward to the weddings I will get to be a special part of again.  xoxo Britt

leave some love!

